RSS

Why you have to manage your image

16 Jul

Take a look at your last 10 Facebook posts. If a vast majority are personal, youre in good shape. If a vast majority are promotional, you may be pushing too hard and losing Facebook Friends. When I give speeches, I have a slide with four pictures of me. I introduce this saying: Even though you are promoting your career and your professional image, you also need to prove you have a life. This slide has pictures of me holding my bicycle, giving a speech and presenting a feature on my smart phone.

People connect with people. My friends say that most of your messages have to be of a personal nature. Even though they vary on the ratio of personal to promotional, a vast majority should be personal. These personal messages could include posts such as:

  • I just swam 1,000 yards without sweating
  • Its 102 outside. I just ran barefoot across my deck to give the mailman an icecold Gatorade.
  • Enjoying Freedom Fries at (a local celebrity restaurant) and feeling very patriotic
  • If your website is old and stale, it needs a makeover
  • ‎5 mile run today. 5 mile run yesterday. The difference: 3 minutes faster today.

The only one of these five with a promotional message is the website post. It is actually a link to a YouTube video of the same title. The other four are personal. This strategy helps me connect with people. Some are friends, some are neighbors, some are professional acquaintances. If I were pushing promotional messages exclusively, my Facebook Friends would view this as being too pushy and unfriend me.

Take a look at your last 10 Facebook posts. If a vast majority are personal, youre in good shape. If a vast majority are promotional, you may be pushing too hard and losing Facebook Friends. I refer this to your wisdom.

***
Mark Anthony Germanos uses Internet tools to help your ideal customers find you, your products and your services. Mark uses SEO, or Search Engine Optimization, to help his clients get on page 1 and attract more business. Marks Sacramento SEO Gold package includes creating a 6,000 word document with abundant content for your online presence. Sacramento SEOGold will not produce instant gratification, but Sacramento SEO Gold works, gets people on page 1 and creates long-term benefits. Google Sacramento business revival or Sacramento cloud computing to see Marks SEO strategies in action. Mark is available at 530-677-8864 and at http://bit.ly/Jk50ds.

 

Leave a Reply

 
