RSS

Register your business’ Internet domain name

30 Mar

Establish your Internet domain name. It should not offend anybody (unless that is your intention) and it should be easy to remember. The Internet uses domain names for web sites, e-mail, and security certificates. You register (rent) a domain name and then hire someone to host the domain. My friend Karl Palachuk says the domain name should be obtained before the legal name, which I will discuss in the next section. I have rented cameronparkcomputer.com, markanthonygermanos.com, escapethecubiclebook.com, escapethecubicle.biz, and escapethecubicle.net, among others. This gives me authority to create a web site and receive e-mail with these domains. I do not own them; I merely rent them. I would be wise to rent them for as long as I remain in business. As of December 31, 2010, I have a valid web site in production at cameronparkcomputer.com, but nothing impressive for the others. That is currently OK. I chose to write this book before creating web sites that promote it.

I’m sure you’re asking, “What about escapethecubicle.com?” I could not rent it. Somebody else already rented that domain name and has published a web site. I could contact that person and offer to buy the domain name, or I could just wait and see if he or she abandons it.

I do not believe in renting domain names from third parties and you shouldn’t either. I’ve seen some companies rent domain names in bulk, hoping that somebody will come along and pay an exorbitant amount for a domain. I once inquired about cameronpark.com. The company holding it requested $3,300. I did not give them $3,300. I gave them some profanity.

***

Mark Anthony Germanos is the President of Cameron Park Computer Services, a premier Sacramento IT company providing IT services, IT solutions and IT support. Cameron Park Computer Services moves clients to the Cloud. “The Cloud is among the best IT solutions we’ve ever offered,” says Germanos, “I’ve been in the IT service and IT support business since 1992. When you run your business in the Cloud, your data is always available, available from anywhere and the cost is usually less. Does your IT company offer IT services, IT support and CloudU certified staff that can provide today’s IT solutions at affordable prices”? Cameron Park Computer Services does.

 

Leave a Reply

 
