RSS

You Are the President of You, Inc.

26 Mar

That makes you the ultimate decision-maker. You view decisions from the perspective of the company and not just as a person who enjoys spending money. In this post, will present…

Choose your training

Being the President of You, Inc. also includes deciding which out-of-town training events you can justify attending. I’ve determined my out-of-town training that involves air travel costs me $1,000 per day before adding my opportunity cost. A training event, conference, or seminar would have to have excellent marketing materials, valuable subject matter, or a great reputation to help me justify spending $1,000 per day. You too should budget $1,000 per day for out-of-town training. When I say $1,000 per day, I am including these costs:

  • Roundtrip air travel
  • Parking at the Sacramento airport
  • Meals and hotel room
  • Rental car, cab, or shuttle
  • Event entrance fee

I’m pretty good at choosing which training events, conferences, and seminars to attend. These have taken me to Seattle, San Francisco Bay Area, Los Angeles, Las Vegas, and Austin. I’ve attended Harry Brelsford’s SMB Nation three times and found it very valuable. At SMB Nation 2009, I met people who changed my opinion of social media. Who knows what my business would look like if I hadn’t attended this conference and been exposed to this new information?

You have to make these decisions too. You have to decide what justifies your time and energy. You decide what is so important that you can justify flying to get there and incurring the costs.

You may be saying, “I will do webinars. I don’t have to travel.” That’s great. I also do webinars. I’ve found that webinars are usually sales presentations while training events, conferences, and seminars are forums where I can meet people. You cannot shake somebody’s hand or buy somebody a beer through a computer screen. You cannot get an opinion leader’s honest opinion through a recorded webinar; you can after sharing a brew or two. Sometimes, you have to attend events in person. Person-to-person contact far outweighs staring at cameras and computer screens.

***

Mark Anthony Germanos is the President of Cameron Park Computer Services, a premier Sacramento IT company providing IT services, IT solutions and IT support. Cameron Park Computer Services moves clients to the Cloud. “The Cloud is among the best IT solutions we’ve ever offered,” says Germanos, “I’ve been in the IT service and IT support business since 1992. When you run your business in the Cloud, your data is always available, available from anywhere and the cost is usually less. Does your IT company offer IT services, IT support and CloudU certified staff that can provide today’s IT solutions at affordable prices”? Cameron Park Computer Services does.

 

Leave a Reply

 
