RSS

You need a definite mission

04 Dec

You have probably set Definite Missions at different times in your life. I have. They were all major steps for me and helped me accomplish a high priority at a particular point in my life. Completing one Definite Mission usually opens the door to another—for example, you would achieve a bachelor’s degree before you pursued and achieved a master’s degree.

A list of my Definite Missions includes:

• Earn a bachelor’s degree from Michigan State University.

• Pay off my student loans 38 months early.

• Become a certified scuba diver.

• Own my residence.

• Earn the Microsoft Certified Systems Engineer (MCSE) designation.

• Become successfully self-employed.

• Publish my first book, How to Make Computer Systems Work for You.

• Publish this book.

• Make a living off this book and the speaking/consulting opportunities it creates.

Definite Missions are provable, concise, and ambitious.

I can prove I earned a bachelor’s degree from Michigan State University. I have records indicating when I took classes there and I have the bachelor’s degree hanging on my wall. I have a copy in the vault at a local bank. I can also have you call the Michigan State University Registrar’s office and verify that I really did earn a bachelor’s degree in 1989. I am 100% positive I can prove that I earned the bachelor’s degree.

This Definite Mission was concise. It truly is a bachelor’s degree, not an associate’s degree, master’s degree or Ph.D. It truly is from Michigan State University and not from DePaul University or Loyola University, where my mom and dad graduated. I can show you my transcript (also in the vault) that lists all the classes I took and the grades I earned. I am 100% positive.

It was very ambitious. I heard that most college freshmen do not graduate in four years. I decided to work hard and beat the odds. I did not know how I could pay for it, since I was not a resident of Michigan when I chose MSU and I would therefore pay out-of-state tuition. I found enough funding to get me through school. I also chose a curriculum that entailed countless hours of research and paper writing. MSU’s library did not use the familiar Dewey Decimal System—instead, they use the Library of Congress’ numbering scheme. I learned to understand it quickly. I learned that writing good papers meant presenting my argument, presenting the opposing argument, and then summarizing why my argument carries more weight. It was a lot for a kid who woke up one day in East Lansing and knew nobody.

You need a Definite Mission that is provable, concise, and ambitious.

Mark Anthony Germanos is the author of two books, Escape the Cubicle: How to leave your corporate or government job for something better and How to Make Computer Systems Work for You. He has faith in a slow but sure Sacramento business revival. Sacramento small business owners are leading the way. His second book, Escape the Cubicle, is for those who want to escape cubicle jobs and become successfully self-employed. Escape the Cubicle answers the questions: "How can I grow my business" and "How do I become my own boss."

Mark is the President of Cameron Park Computer Services. As a business owner and computer networking consultant, he has seen habits that successful Sacramento small business owners embrace. He helps Sacramento small business owners embrace those habits to increase their profits, efficiency and happiness. An advocate of Sacramento business revival, Mark believes everybody should run their lives like a small business, perform SWOT Analyses and use social media campaigns to improve business. He used to say “social media is stupid.” That was until he attended a conference and saw how Sacramento small business owners can use social media campaigns as a valuable tool. Since then, he has earned more than $40,000 in business via social media. His Sacramento small business clients also have five-figure returns. Sacramento small business owners that launch social media campaigns give themselves a comparative advantage over those who lag behind. Mark does not do everything, but his clients do receive great results and participate in the Sacramento business revival when they follow his advice.

Mark moved from Chicago and restarted his business in California with a cell phone and a Honda Civic. An active triathlete, he has a life, a dream wife and a dog. For additional details, visit http://markanthonygermanos.com. Twitter: http://twitter.com/markgermanos. Facebook: http://facebook.com/markanthonygermanos. LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/in/markgermanos.

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
